Dead on the Vine: A Finn Family Farm Mystery (Hardcover)

Dead on the Vine: A Finn Family Farm Mystery Cover Image
List Price: $26.99
Our Price: $24.29
(Save: $2.70 10%)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Finn Family Farm Mystery series.

Description


Perfect for fans of B. B. Haywood and Peg Cochran, Ellie B. White's whimsical series debut is full of farm fun, complete with a helpful baby pig.

Reluctant farmer Charlotte Finn needs the help of the livestock to sleuth a mysterious death.

Charlotte Finn never wanted to inherit the family's produce farm--much less plow a heap of money into it. Her plan is to hammer a great big FOR SALE sign into the farm's fallow furrows--but Charlotte's sunny hopes of a quick sale succumb to a killing frost when she finds a dead body entwined supine in the tomato vines. The poor man, it seems, was run through...with a pitchfork?

Now, Charlotte is stuck with running the farm in the midst of a murder investigation. Charlotte's knowledge of farming is smaller than her bank balance, so she relies on caretakers Joe and Alice Wong and their farmhands. Can she trust them? She doesn't know them. There's also farmer Samuel Brown, who still carries a childhood grudge. But the case gets personal when Charlotte learns that the victim might have been her own kin--and seeds of suspicion grow into a fertile field of suspects.

Charlotte turns to the farm's pig to help root out the killer. Soon, the goats, geese, and horse join in, but will Charlotte harvest a murderer--or buy the farm?

About the Author


Born in Shaker Heights, Ohio, Elle Brooke White became a world traveler at a young age when her family moved to Europe. She grew up in Paris, Brussels and London until returning to the US to attend Vassar College. She then moved to New York City with the hopes of becoming a renowned actress but took a job in advertising-- as Elle says "just until." But it was time for her to return to "a world of pure imagination". Now Elle lives in Southern California with her famous diving dog, Bardot.

Praise For…


Praise for Dead on the Vine:
"[A] lighthearted series launch...Animal lovers won't want to miss this playful cozy."
Publishers Weekly

"The human-porcine-insect trio attacks the case with a gusto and expertise that would make mere cat sleuths blush with envy." 
Kirkus Reviews

“The beautifully described rural setting, the nicely fleshed-out characters, and a sense of whimsy distinguish this charming cozy debut, the first in a series.”
Booklist

“It only took until page four for me to realize what a delight this book is...Well done, Elle Brooke White, well done!”
—MyShelf.com

“A deftly crafted and simply pitch-perfect mystery novel by an author with an impressively effective and narrative driving storytelling style...very highly recommended.”
—Midwest Book Review

“This stunning debut has it all...Elle Brooke White breathes new life into cozy mysteries.”
Manhattan Book Review

“Like a modern day Charlotte’s Web.
—Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

"A country-flavored read with a fresh farm-to-table rural setting and a suspenseful fast-paced plot. Mix in a few additional ingredients, like a charming cast, a crime-solving pig, and a loyal lady bug, and you have the perfect recipe for a fun and lively cozy."  
—B. B. Haywood, New York Times bestselling author of the Candy Holliday mysteries

"Dead on the Vine has it all—characters and a setting you will fall in love with and a plot that will keep you turning the pages!"  
—Peg Cochran, USA Today bestselling author of the Farmer's Daughter mysteries

"A debut cozy mystery with a delightful and winning combination: a feisty heroine, a pig named Horse, an enchanting farm—and a mystery that will keep you guessing. Dead on the Vine checks all the boxes!"
—Sally Goldenbaum, USA Today bestselling author of the Seaside Knitters mysteries

"Dead on the vine is a funny, warm-hearted mystery sure to please." 
—Mollie Cox Bryan, author of the Buttermilk Creek mysteries

"Buckle up for a crazy ride when Charlotte Finn inherits the family farm—and her family’s darkest secrets. Did these secrets spawn a murder? Author Elle Brook White kept me in my seat around every curve to the very last page."
—Barbara Ross, author of the Maine Clambake mysteries


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643852966
ISBN-10: 1643852965
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Finn Family Farm Mystery

Book Clubs - Upcoming Dates

Please check back. We will be announcing the dates and times in the near future.